Manipulated paper

Manipulated paper

Last year at Easter time God drew me towards The Passion film by Mel Gibson. I studied the crucifixion during my degree and although it is one of the most explicit films it still does not go far enough in showing the torture and the brutality Jesus endured before and during his death. It is not a film I want to watch but as I watched it God asked me to do to paper what they did to Him: to punch, spit upon and tear at it. The paper was then buried on Good Friday and then dug up on Easter Sunday. The result was a series of pieces of paper, manipulated in such a way that it had softened like skin, was broken like His skin.

Burying paper

Burying paper

I wanted to repeat the process this year using bigger pieces of paper, to revisit this process and to revisit His pain and His sacrifice for us. It catches my breath each time I do this, spitting on the paper, tearing at it as the lashes would have, praying for forgiveness for all that I have done. And the physical act of digging and burying the paper.
The act of reflecting on what Jesus has done for us…. it is so important, to try and grasp what He endured. Thank God for Easter Sunday.

