Texture paste base onto which I will paint

Texture paste base onto which I will paint

It’s a beautiful day and it’s such a privilege to spend some of it in the shed. The pieces are taking shape now and are becoming much more visual than textural. After the texture paste arrived I’ve now finished filling in the cross, skyline and the seeds. The left hand canvas will need audience participation so hopefully I can do that either tonight or at the weekend, but the others just need careful layers of painting now. The logo has been placed on top of the street where Birmingham Vineyard currently stands, with The streets of Birmingham spread out to the left and to the right.

Close up of canvas two

Close up of canvas two

The seed image has been based on a mustard seed, used widely in the bible as a symbol of faith. The smallness of the seed in contrast to the vastness of the eventual tree is quite staggering. The texture of the seed is quite mottled close up so the texture paste was a perfect base for this image. The symbolism of the mustard seed for me is birth, potential and hope, God breathing life into the city through small acts of kindness and the witness of individuals within their workplace. It speaks hope to me, that God can potentially use the little that I have to speak into the lives of those around me where I naturally stand. We studied in our house group only yesterday about our responsibility to do all things without grumbling but with rejoicing (Philippians 2:11-18). I am more than aware that I fail on so many levels, this being one of them. I am a renowned mumbler in our house when I’m disgruntled, cross or have a chore ahead of me that I despise. And yet if I choose to aline my will with His there is potential. If I chose to root myself in His truth and take everything thought captive, He can take all that I am without and make it so much more productive and helpful to both myself and those around me.

