Ok, so I headed back into the shed this morning after varnishing the pieces and began working on them again. My children are exceptional and have friends over… and they actually are playing together which allows me to sneak into the shed every now and then. It’s the only time I’ve ever used the baby com, to connect the shed to the house. Knew it would come in handy at some point!!!

Four canvases with additional words.

Four canvases with additional words.

Even as I was varnishing them last night I knew they weren’t right. The words I’d hesitantly painted on them seriously weren’t clear or even readable, and having the words on is really important to me. The conceptual side of the work, the meaning behind it all, is evident if the blog has been read, but for those who won’t read it the words are key to an immediate sense and understanding of the work. So I’ve been bolder.

I’ve mixed up colours similar to the background of each canvas and drawn out the key words to each section. I’ve painted them slightly overlapping but leaving enough space for them to be seen, and overall I am pleased. The words on canvas two are more visible than the others and stand out a little too much, so I’m toying with the idea of rubbing them back after lunch. It’s more unfinished in appearance, hinting that there are more layers to come, but clear enough to provide a context. Eating pasta with the kids and then will look later. May even get their eyes on it. They seem to have a keen understanding of balance and composition combined with encouragement and truth. Always a good combination.

