Working on the third canvas

Working on the third canvas

The canvases are complete. I can hardly believe it.

The third one was the only one I felt needed work so over the last few days that’s what I’ve been working through.

The importance of doing life well is unquestionable. God Himself came as Jesus to model what that would look like, and I think it probably surprised people. Doing life well has to be married with a non judgemental spirit…. it’s essential. The moment Jesus drew in the sand and suggested that he without sin should cast the first stone at the adulterous woman He challenged the perception of sin. None are without and yet we seem to have a natural, innate ability and even a tendency to judge others. And yet with Jesus no one is unforgiven or outcast.

Close up of stone

Close up of stone

The incident in John 8 has influenced this canvas a great deal. I wanted to paint a stone that was indigenous to the Galilean terrain but the research turned up so many different kinds and was quite conflicting. So I thought I’d look into what sort of stone was indigenous to Birmingham. Red sandstone was high on the list and this is what I selected. I wanted to paint the stone by the footprints to remind us that it remains there, at Jesus’ feet. There is no condemnation in His salvation and we can live in the fullness of life.

I’m so excited about the canvases. They have achieved everything I hoped they would. To sit back and just look at them now is such a affirmation of the journey God has brought me on. I pray God blesses the church through them as He alone can do, and that I have adequately reflected all the church wanted me to. It has been a total privilege to be asked to create them.

The Four Finished Canvases for Birmingham Vineyard

The Four Finished Canvases for Birmingham Vineyard

