Gold leaf over a rusty nail.

Gold leaf over a rusty nail.

It’s such an amazing privilege to be able to enter the shed at the bottom of my garden and know that I can just listen and create for the day, and it’s especially treasured when it’s been a long time since I last went in there. Life does seem to crowd in sometimes and take over, sucking the time you have and leaving you with lists ticked but no creativity achieved.

But God uses all this. He’s been whispering about the preciousness of the ordinary and I’ve had pictures in my mind of the use of gold to mend things that are very every day and overlooked, things that would usually be placed straight in the bin because to fix them costs more than the replace.

IKEA plate with gold leaf

IKEA plate with gold leaf

A wonderful friend of mind found an article about the technique of kintsukuroi, “to repair with gold”; the art of repairing pottery with gold or silver lacquer and understanding that the piece is more beautiful for having been broken. This concept has been twisting and jumping in my head as it’s something that I’ve looked at before; the preciousness of found or broken objects that are usually overlooked.

So today I’m mending a chipped IKEA plate with gold leaf, setting gold leaf over a rusty nail and a used cork, just to see if the technique even works and to see what the result would be. Just lovely to be experimenting and playing, asking the question ‘what would happen if….?’ Just lovely.

